AudiologyOnline Phone: 800-753-2160

Exam Preview

Illinois Ethical Practice Guidance for Hearing Aid Dispensing Practices

View Course Details Please note: exam questions are subject to change.

1.  The minimum trial period currently required in the State of Illinois Hearing Instrument Consumer Protection Code for a face to face hearing aid sale:
  1. 15 days
  2. 30 days
  3. 45 days
  4. 60 days
2.  A hearing instrument specialist in Illinois can currently have their license revoked, suspended, placed on probation, censured, fined, or reprimanded for which of the following:
  1. Stating or implying, verbally or in writing, that the use of a hearing instrument will restore normal hearing, preserve hearing, prevent or retard progression of hearing impairment
  2. Falsifying records
  3. Representing, advertising, or implying that a hearing instrument is guaranteed without providing full disclosure of the identity of the guarantor and the nature, extent, and duration of the guarantee, including the existence of conditions or limitations
  4. Dispensing hearing instruments without liability insurance
  5. All of the above
3.  A hearing instrument specialist in Illinois is obligated to laws from which Federal agencies:
  1. Food and Drug Administration
  2. Federal Trade Commission
  3. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
  4. A and B
  5. A, B, and C
4.  A licensed hearing instrument specialist in Illinois cannot describe themselves using which of the following terms:
  1. Doctor
  2. Audiologist
  3. Dr. (first name) (last name)
  4. All of the above
5.  Hearing instrument specialists are licensed and governed by which Illinois state agency:
  1. Department of Public Health
  2. Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
  3. Office of the Attorney General
  4. All of the above
6.  Which State of Illinois regulations are hearing instrument specialists obligated to follow:
  1. Hearing Instrument Consumer Protection Act
  2. Hearing Instrument Consumer Protection Code
  3. Consumer Fraud and Deceptive Business Practices Act
  4. Health Care Worker Self Referral Act
  5. All of the above
7.  In Illinois, purchases over what dollar amount require a detailed receipt?
  1. $1
  2. $50
  3. $100
  4. $500
8.  What is the maximum length of time an audiogram is valid if the patient is purchasing a set of new (not replacement) hearing aids in the State of Illinois?
  1. Six Months
  2. 12 Months
  3. 24 months
  4. No length specified
9.  When you have open houses or in-house sales promotions in an Illinois dispensing office, the following individuals must not have patient contact:
  1. An Illinois Hearing instrument specialist trainee
  2. An Illinois licensed physician
  3. Manufacturer's representative who is not licensed in Illinois
  4. A student who is personally supervised by an Illinois licensed audiologist
10.  When renewing an Illinois Hearing Instrument Specialist license, how many hours of continuing education per year may be obtained through programs sponsored by hearing instrument manufacturers?
  1. 2 hours
  2. 5 hours
  3. 7 hours
  4. 10 hours

Our site uses cookies to improve your experience. By using our site, you agree to our Privacy Policy.